Contact us at

Contact Us


Melissa A. Schultea, CAE, Senior Manager, Canadian Activities
Alexandria Brown, Meetings Specialist, Canada
Arlene Hare, Accounting Assistant
Blaine Horner, Calgary Section Coordinator
Charity Tsang, Administrative Assistant
Emma Blake, Events Administrator
Jill Thomas, Member Services Specialist
Jinny Bae, Training Administrator
Kristin Briard, Events Manager
Leah Guindon, Assistant Editor
Mark Hoekstra, Sales Manager – Canada
Olive Kaufman, Registration Coordinator
Rudeen Hoffman, Events Assistant
Shefali Jariwala, Senior Accountant
Yarah Moharam, Marketing Manager

Canada Board of Directors

Manages SPE Canada activities in accordance with the administrative and fiscal policies of the SPE International Board of Directors.

Darcy Spady

Mike Gatens

Canadian Regional Director
Darcy Spady
Sanjel Corporation

Chair — SPE Canada Board
Mike Gatens
Unconventional Gas Resources

 Dennis Hahn

Darcy Spady

Director — SPE Canada Board
Dennis Hahn
Talisman Energy

Director — SPE Canada Board
Robert Hawkes
Trican Well Service Ltd.

Cam Matthews


Director — SPE Canada Board
Cam Matthews
C-FER Technologies

Director — SPE Canada Board
Edwin Macdonald
St. Brendan's Exploration Ltd.

Shane Freeson


Past Chair — SPE Canada Board
Shane Freeson
Cenovus Energy

Director— SPE Canada Board
Ken Paulson
BC Oil and Gas Commission

Stephen Graham


Director — SPE Canada Board
Stephen Graham
Society of Petroleum Engineers


SPE Canada Events Advisory Committee

Suggests workshop topics, workshop program committee members, and locations for workshops.

Helen Chang, Nexen
Kris Costello, Nalcor Energy
K.C. Yeung, Brion Energy
Mike Gatens, Unconventional Gas Resources
Barry Hanson, Sproule
Robert Hawkes, Trican Well Service Ltd.

SPE Canada Training Advisory Committee

Recommends topics and qualified instructors for courses to meet training needs in Canada.

Bent Nielsen, Snamprogetti Canada
Carmen Goss, Prominent Personnel
Catherine Le Blanc, LeBlanc and Associates
Claudio Virues, Nexen
Dennis Hahn, Talisman Energy
Evan Noble, Weatherford
Mark Bacon, Champion Technologies
Mike McIntosh, Weatherford
Roger Hough,
Lowell Professional Services
Timour Baichev, Ryder Scott Company
Tom Byrnes,  Alberta Energy Regulator

SPE Canadian Educational Trust Fund

Supports educational programs and activities, endowment of Chairs, and scholarships operated by other non-profit groups, organizations, and Canadian educational institutions for the purposes of promoting, educating, or disseminating information related to, the petroleum industry.

Helen Chang, Chair, Nexen
David Quirk, Treasurer, Trican Well Service, Ltd
Barry Hanson, Secretary, Sproule
Kelly Edwards, Harvest Energy
Dennis Hahn, Talisman Energy
Evan Noble
, Weatherford
Jarrett Dragani, Cenovus