SPE logo


Travel & Accommodatins


Regional Student Paper Contest


Ernesto Valbuena, Chevron
Karin Gonzalez, Texas A&M University
Ernesto Hurtado, TECNA
Fabian Vera, Texas A&M University
Pedro Vivas, Schlumberger
Rafael Hincapie, Technology University Clausthal
Rafael Rodriguez, Andes Petro
Ralph Chadeesingh, Petrofac
Roberto Aguilera, University of Calgary
Flavia Villaroel, Baker Hughes
Francisco Porturas, Ziebel AS
Victor Alexei Huerta, PetroPeru
Hernan Boscan, PDVSA
Geragg Chourio, PDVSA
Jusser Bustos, PDVSA Petrocedeño
Rodrigo Rueda, Regional Focal Point

Prizes and Recognitions

Prizes will be awarded during the conference to the top three papers in each division (Undergraduate, Masters, and PhD). Cash prizes will be awarded to finalists in their respective divisions. First Prize also includes qualification to the next round of the international student paper contest at the 2016 SPE Annual Technical Conference & Exhibition (ATCE). The 2016 ATCE will take place in Dubai, 26–28 September 2016, where award-winning students will present their work at the SPE International Student Paper Contest.

2015 LACPEC Regional Student Contestants

Congratulations to the following students who will be competing at the Regional Student Paper Contest, during LACPEC on 17 November, at the Hilton Hotel in Quito, Ecuador. Competition is scheduled from 0800 – 1700 hours at room Isabel La Católica I-II. Contestants are encouraged to arrive early.

Undergraduate Contestants

Vitor Ferreira, University of Campinas, Brazil
Leydi Ramos, Universidad Simón Bolívar, Venezuela
Andrea Osorio, Universidad del Zulia, Venezuela
Fernando Plazas, Universidad Industrial de Santander, Colombia
Maria Andrea Aviles-Sanchez, Universidad Veracruzana, Mexico
Enoc Basilio, Universidad Nacional de Ingeniería, Peru
Alan Manuel Duran Aguilar, Universidad Politécnica del Golfo de Mexico, Mexico
Victoria Florencia Peñaranda, Universidad Nacional de Cuyo, Argentina
Alba Saavedra, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Sergio Alberto Villegas-Cruz, Universidad Veracruzana, Mexico
Sandy Morales Zurita, UNAM, Mexico

Postgraduate Contestants

This is a combined division (Masters and PhD). Judges will ensure that each student will be rated accordingly to their level of ability.

PhD Contestant

Andre Bertolini, State University of Campinas – UNICAMP, Brazil

Masters Contestants

Cindy Guerrero, Universidad Industrial de Santander, Colombia
Geizila Abib, North Fluminense State University, Brazil
Pedro Adrian, Unicamp, Brazil
Eva Coddia, Unicamp. Brazil

Tips and Resources