JPT logo
SPE logo


W.F. “Rick” Bott Jr., SPE, will succeed Jeff Hume as president and chief operating officer (COO) of Continental Resources (CLR). He previously served as executive director and COO for Cairn India. During his time at Cairn, the company developed and brought on stream the largest onshore oil field in India, connecting the remote Rajasthan fields to refining centers. Bott has extensive global exploration and production (E&P) experience, with more than 27 years in the industry leading integrated organizations, developing new business, partnering with governments and regulators in E&P operations, and focusing on cross-cultural leadership development and execution-focused organizational alignment. ­Earlier, he was with Devon Energy’s international division, where he was vice president responsible for developing and implementing exploration strategy and operations. He also served as president of Ocean Egypt Companies and as president of Ocean Yemen Corporation. He has held a number of international management and technical positions with ­British Gas and Tenneco. Bott holds an MS degree in geology and a BS degree in marine science—both from Texas A&M University.

AGR appointed a new vice president within its reservoir management division. Morten Heir, SPE, formerly technical director at Canamens Energy for 4 years, succeeds Atle Aamodt Andresen, who will now head up AGR Energy—a newly established division focusing on the development and management of projects within Israel. He also previously worked for BP for 18 years. Heir holds a master’s degree in petroleum engineering from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, and an MBA from the School of Economics and Business Administration, Bergen.

Jeff Hume, SPE, will assume the role of CLR’s vice chairman of strategic growth initiatives. Previously, Hume was CLR’s president and COO, before which he served as the company’s senior vice president of operations. He was also senior vice president of resource and business development starting October 2005, senior vice president of resource development beginning July 2002, and vice president of drilling operations starting 1996. Before joining CLR in May 1983 as vice president of engineering and operations, Hume held various engineering positions with Sun Oil Company, Monsanto Company, and FCD Oil Corporation. He is a registered professional engineer in Oklahoma and member of the Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association and the Oklahoma and National Professional Engineering societies. Hume graduated from Oklahoma State University with a BS degree in petroleum engineering technology.

Marcus “Marc” LeBlanc, SPE, was appointed vice president and general manager of Orange Directional Technologies USA. LeBlanc has more than 30 years’ experience in the oil and gas industry and over 18 years’ experience in directional drilling. During the past 11 years, he was a key contributor to the growth and success of Ryan Energy Technologies USA, a subsidiary of Nabors Drilling. His most recent role with Ryan was vice president USA.

The American Society of Mechanical En-gineers (ASME)/University of Houston (UH)’s Outstanding Achievement in the Oil Industry Award was bestowed this year on Tom Tilton, SPE, vice president of research and engineering and chief technology officer for Weatherford International. The awards program began in 1988 and is given annually in connection with the Offshore Technology Conference to selected presidents, inventors, and pioneers of the industry. Tilton graduated from UH in 1976 with a BS degree in mechanical engineering and began his career in the energy industry as a design engineer with Baker Hughes. During his career with both Baker and Weatherford, he has led teams in the design of innovative new technology in drilling, well construction, completions, and production. Tilton holds 29 patents in these technology areas and in recent years has led the development of an international technology organization that provides solutions to challenges in global oil and gas resource E&P. This has involved maintaining strong relationships with key universities and clients around the world. Tom serves as a board member of UK-based ITF. For many years, he has served as a member of UH’s Engineering Leadership Board and is also its former chairman. He is a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and a registered professional engineer in Texas.

In Memoriam

Jack Elenbaas, SPE, died 22 April 2012. He was 88. From 1946 through 1979, Elenbaas’ career focused on underground gas storage with Michigan Consolidated Gas Company, first in Grand Rapids and then in Detroit. His leadership beyond the workplace included serving 15 years on the American Gas Association’s Pipeline Research Committee for Underground Gas Storage Research; he was its chairman in 1975. He also helped establish the SPE Michigan Section, of which he was a charter member and served as chairman in 1972. SPE named him a Distinguished Member in 1994. He also was a coauthor, with Donald L. Katz et al., of the Handbook of Natural Gas Engineering. He attended the University of Michigan, graduating with bachelor’s and master’s degrees, both in chemical engineering. He was a member of the University of Michigan’s engineering honor society, Tau Beta Pi, and later became a professional engineer in both Texas and Michigan. He is survived by Eleanor, his wife of 67 years, four children, 11 grandchildren, and six great-grandchildren.

Member Deaths

Michael E. Bailey, Huntsville, Texas
Gordon H. Biescar, Klein, Texas
Jonathon L. Braddock, Queensland, Australia
Eustace D. Coltharp, Houston, Texas
Kenneth L. Dominy, Rockwall, Texas
Frederick F. Dueser, Breckenridge, Texas
John H. Ferry, Tuscon, Arizona
H. Heidt, Houston, Texas
Rowland Laxson, Montgomery, Texas
Robert A. Odd, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Jason Orf, Tulsa, Oklahoma
Earl H. Ramsey, Austin, Texas
Gene E. Roark, Houston, Texas
Henry A. Salisch, Wahroonga, New South Wales, Australia
E.S. Scholl, Houston, Texas
Roger Steffensen, Tulsa, Oklahoma