JPT logo
SPE logo


Fernando L. Benalcazar, SPE, was appointed general manager and vice president Latin America of Equitable Origin. He will be located in Quito, Ecuador. Before joining Equitable Origin, Benalcazar worked for APDProyectos in Ecuador; Tanganyika Oil in Syria; Encana in France, Canada, and Ecuador; and Occidental in Oman, the US, Venezuela, and Ecuador. Benalcazar has more than 20 years’ senior management experience in environmental, health, safety, community affairs, and corporate responsibility roles. He is a certified safety professional in the US, and a member of the American Society of Safety Engineers. Benalcazar earned an MS in civil engineering from the Alberto Luiz Coimbra Institute for Graduate School of Research and Engineering–Federal University of Rio de Janeiro.

John Boogaerdt, SPE, joined the International Association of Oil and Gas Producers (OGP) as manager of the wells expert committee. With an emphasis on exploration and production project management, and business development, Boogaerdt’s work has taken him to the UK, Malaysia, Egypt, and Oman and included such projects as the China West-East and Balgzand Bacton Netherlands-to-UK gas pipelines. More recently, he worked for OMV in Vienna, Austria, and Parker Drilling based in the Netherlands. Boogaerdt earned an MS in mechanical engineering from Delft University of Technology, Netherlands.

Jerry Hubbard, SPE, was appointed president and chief executive officer of Energistics. He also serves as the corporate treasurer. He joined the organization in 2006. Previously, he was the company’s chief operating officer. Hubbard’s experience includes executive operations, business development, project management, and pipeline construction assignments in Alaska, Oklahoma, Texas, and the UK. He has played a key role in the development and adoption of global e-business standards for the oil and gas industry, serving as director of the standards and guidelines committee for the Petroleum Industry Data Exchange (PIDX) subcommittee of the American Petroleum Institute. He was a founding member of the PIDX Europe executive committee and served on the steering committee of the United Nations Standard Products and Services Code. Hubbard earned an MS degree in science management and a BS degree in natural resources from the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Derren Simpson, SPE, has been appointed vice president Middle East and North Africa at Tendeka. He joined the company as area manager for Asia Pacific in 2010. Simpson was previously country manager for WellDynamics in Australia, New Zealand, and Papua New Guinea, and before that held a number of management posts within ­Weatherford International. He has more than 20 years’ experience in the international energy industry, with expertise in well construction, drilling, intelligent and conventional completions, sand control, inflow control, and production optimization technologies.

In Memoriam

Ann Caroline Gibson, 81, passed away on 6 December 2011 in Dallas, Texas. She was born on 18 July 1930 in Oklahoma City to Dow and Louise Gibson. She is survived by her sister, Charlotte Slemp; nieces and nephew, Nancy McKown and husband Ted, Buddy Slemp and wife Kathy, Alison Kaye and husband Adam. She retired as production manager in 1994 from the Society of Petroleum Engineers after 39 years. Gibson was a long-time resident of Dallas and lived in Plano, Texas, the past four years.

Member Deaths

Norman B. Adams, Wichita Falls, Texas
James W. Althouse III, Hudson, Ohio
John Andersen, Svendborg, Denmark
A.W. Augustson, Fort Worth, Texas
C.R. Blomberg, Beaverton, Oregon
Fred W. Burtch, Tulsa, Oklahoma
Robert L. Casey Jr., Spring, Texas
Kenneth R. Evans, Crosby, Texas
E.E. Finklea, Bethel, Connecticut
Kelli M. Flanagan, Kingwood, Texas
Charles B. Godfrey, Midland, Texas
John F. Herbig, Midland, Texas
Robert G. Hindman, The Woodlands, Texas
John Knudsen, El Cajon, California
Curtis H. Lemons, Belle Chasse, Louisiana
I.W. Lovelady, Placitas, New Mexico
Rodney B. Muth, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Robert W. Oborn, Mattoon, Illinois
Orland H. Reaugh, Breckenridge, Texas
Edward W. Reif, Tulsa, Oklahoma
Shamsul H. Siddiqui, West Chester, Pennsylvania
Richard D. Stauffer, Maryville, Tennessee
Ivo Steiner, Zagreb, Croatia
J.S. Stone, Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Ray W. Wenzel, McMurray, Pennsylvania
John W. West, Hobbs, New Mexico