JPT logo
SPE logo


Thomas BurkeTHOMAS P.  BURKE, SPE, was elected chief executive officer (CEO) of the Rowan Companies. He has served as chief operating officer of Rowan since 2011 and was promoted to president in March 2013. Burke joined Rowan in 2009, serving as president and CEO of subsidiary LeTourneau Technologies until 2011, when Rowan sold LeTourneau. At Complete Production Services, he was division president from 2006 to 2009 and vice president of corporate development from 2004 to 2006. Before this, he served in various roles at Schlumberger and McKinsey & Company. Burke holds a PhD in engineering science from Trinity College, Oxford, and an MBA with high distinction from Harvard Business School.

Steve HolditchSTEPHEN HOLDITCH, SPE, received the 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award from Texas A&M University. Holditch, who served as president of SPE in 2002, is former head of the Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering and former director of the Texas A&M Energy Institute. In 1977, he founded petroleum engineering firm S.A. Holditch and Associates. He has been honored as a member of the Petroleum Engineering Academy of Distinguished Graduates and as an Outstanding Alumnus of the Dwight Look College of Engineering. Holditch was elected to the US National Academy of Engineering in 1995 and has been honored with most of SPE’s top technical honors, including Honorary membership and Distinguished Membership. Holditch earned BS, MS, and PhD degrees in petroleum engineering from Texas A&M.

Roy MartinROY MARTIN, SPE, has been appointed CEO of READ Cased Hole. With more than 30 years of industry experience, he has held ­senior management and executive positions both with major service providers and with manufacturing firms in the African, Middle East, and Asia Pacific regions. ­Martin earned a BS degree in mechanical engineering from Auckland University.



Glenda_SmithGLENDA SMITH, SPE, has been promoted to vice president, communications at the Society of Petroleum Engineers, based in Richardson, Texas. She will be responsible for the management of SPE technical publications, publishing services, magazines and web content, communications, and energy education. Smith joined SPE in 2002. She developed SPE’s web content group, and then moved to technical publications in 2007. Most recently, she held the position of director of ­innovation, strategy, and analytics. Before coming to SPE, Smith worked for the American Petroleum Institute, ICF Consulting, and Oil & Gas Journal. She holds a BS in economics from the University of Tulsa and an MBA from George Mason University.

Brandon_TrippBRANDON TRIPP, SPE, has been awarded a graduate fellowship from the US Tau Beta Pi engineering honor society. The award includes USD 10,000 for graduate studies at any institution of the fellowship winner’s choosing. Tripp graduated from the University of Alabama at Birmingham with a BS in civil engineering. He spent 3 years participating in his school’s Tau Beta Pi chapter, serving as chapter president for 2 years. He also participated in his school’s National Society of Black Engineers chapter, serving as president and vice president during his 3-year tenure. Tripp completed several co-op and internship programs during his undergraduate years and will be serving in his fifth internship this summer with Aera Energy. At the end of his summer internship, he plans to pursue an MS in petroleum engineering at The University of Texas at Austin.

Data Wee Yiaw HinDATO’ WEE YIAW HIN, SPE, was appointed executive vice president and CEO of upstream business for Petronas, Malaysia’s national oil company. Wee Yiaw Hin is a member of Petronas’ board of directors, executive committee, and management committee and also sits on the boards of several companies within the Petronas Group. He served as a director of the SPE Northern Asia Pacific Region on the international SPE Board of Directors and is currently a member of the SPE Asia Pacific Board of Directors. Wee Yiaw Hin joined Petronas in May 2010 as executive vice president for its exploration and production business. Before that, he worked at Talisman Energy Malaysia, serving as vice president. Previously, Wee Yiaw Hin was with Shell as vice president, Malaysia for Shell Upstream International Asia and managing director of Shell Malaysia Exploration and Production Companies. He earned a BS degree in civil engineering from the University of Wales and an MS degree from Imperial College, London.

In Memoriam

Robert WattenbargerROBERT A. WATTENBARGER, SPE, died on 9 May 2014. He was 78. An active SPE member for 53 years, he was the recipient of the SPE Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award in 2012 and was inducted into the SPE Legion of Honor in 2000. Wattenbarger started his career in 1959, working with Mobil Oil in Colombia. He went on to work for Oil Recovery Corporation and Sinclair Oil in Tulsa, Oklahoma, then Mobil Research in Dallas, Texas, where he developed the first practical compositional reservoir simulator. In 1969, Wattenbarger joined Scientific Software Corporation as vice president, where he remained for 10 years. In 1979, he started his own consulting firm in Houston, joining Texas A&M University as a faculty member in 1983. He had recently been appointed holder of the John E. and Deborah F. Bethancourt Professorship at Texas A&M. Wattenbarger received a BS in petroleum engineering from the University of Tulsa and a PhD in petroleum engineering from Stanford University.

Member Deaths

M.H. Beaver, Houston, Texas, USA
William R. Brinkoeter, Houston, Texas, USA
David E. Harmon Jr., New Concord, Ohio, USA
Joseph W. Jean Jr., Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Joseph Mustacchia Jr., Houston, Texas, USA
Helmut Niko, St. Graz-Mariatrost, Austria
Arnold Leslie Picard, Wanaka, New Zealand
Espy P. Price Jr., Houston, Texas, USA
Albert Dean Rial, Seneca, Kansas, USA
Eugene D. Von Rosenberg, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Royce D. Walker, Abilene, Texas, USA
George Stephen Wattley, Toronto, Canada
James W. Wilson, Washington, Texas, USA