JPT logo
SPE logo

SPE News

Cambodia Section Inaugurated

The SPE Cambodia Section was officially inaugurated in August in a special event at the Intercontinental Hotel in Phnom Penh.

SPE 2012 President Ganesh Thakur attended the event that also included Men Den, section chairperson; Steve Glick, program chairperson; H.E. Sok Khavan, acting director general of the Cambodia National Petroleum Authority (CNPA); H.E. Hac Seang, adviser to CNPA; Kao Thearo, deputy director general of CNPA; Diep Sareiviseth, deputy director general of CNPA; and Ho Vichit, vice chairman of CNPA.

Thakur delivered presentations during the dinner celebration on “Highlighting the Benefits of SPE Membership” and “Toward 70% Recovery Factor: Multiple Disciplines, Different Methods, One Goal.”

The section has organized five meetings, with a target of eight or nine meetings per year. It has 65 members, 50 of them employed by CNPA. The section will host three Distinguished Lecturers presentations in the near future.

First Faculty Support Awards Given

SPE has named the inaugural winners of the Petroleum Engineering Faculty Support Program, which is designed to help attract, develop, and retain petroleum engineering faculty worldwide. The program award grants to faculty in three categories:

  • The SPE Teaching Fellow Award recognizes faculty for unique and creative pedagogy methods. It encourages faculty to excel in the classroom and provide teaching best practices to be shared with other departments. This award is directed at developing and retaining faculty.
  • The SPE PhD Pipeline Award recognizes faculty who have a proven track record or unique methods in encouraging undergraduates to pursue an academic career.It encourages faculty to mentor prospective students and model behaviors that would attract students into academia. This award is directed at attracting faculty.
  • The SPE Research Fellowship awards initial seed funding to new faculty for creative research ideas. It enables faculty to secure initial research funding to establish their network and credibility with the industry in their field of study. This award is directed at developing and retaining faculty.

The 2012 winners, who were recognized at the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in San Antonio in October, are:

SPE Teaching Fellow Award (USD 10,000 each)

  • Matthew Balhoff, University of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Cinar Yildiray, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Marshall Watson, Texas Tech University, USA

SPE PhD Pipeline Award (USD 10,000 each)

  • Dan Hill, Texas A&M University, USA
  • SanJay Srinivasan, University of Texas, USA

SPE Research Fellowship Award (USD 20,000 for FY13 and USD 20,000 for FY14)

  • Reza Barati, University of Kansas, USA
  • Arash Dahi Taleghani, Louisiana State University, USA
  • Zoya Heidari, Texas A&M, USA
  • Yousefa Jafarpour, University of Southern California, USA
  • Ryosuke Okuno, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Rami Younis, University of Tulsa, USA

SPE, Engineers Australia Renew Agreement

SPE and Engineers Australia renewed a cooperation agreement in September during the 2012 International Conference on Health, Safety, and Environment, which was co-organized by SPE and the Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association.

The agreement offers members of both associations membership privileges at local workshops and general meetings, and for publications. It also will let local engineers become registered professional engineers in Australia.

The original agreement dates to 1993 and has been renewed several times.

SPE Romania Section Marks National Event

The SPE Romanian Section celebrated the 155th anniversary of the Romanian petroleum industry in September. The first recorded production of crude oil in Romania was 8 September 1857, which is celebrated annually in the country as a day of national significance.