JPT logo
SPE logo


Robert DrummondRobert Drummond, SPE, has been appointed as a class III director to the board of directors of Key Energy Services. He was appointed president and chief operating officer of the company in June. Before that, Drummond worked for Schlumberger for 31 years, where he began his career. He has held several senior management positions in business development and operations and was president of North America at the time of his departure to Key Energy. He serves as a member of the executive committee of the National Ocean Industries Association and the advisory board of Petroleum Equipment and Services Association. Drummond holds a BS in petroleum engineering from the University of Alabama.

Gordon JohnsonGordon Johnson, SPE, has been appointed to the board of directors of West Texas Resources. He is the president of Bayside Corp. Johnson has experience working for majors and independent oil companies in Texas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Montana, North Dakota, and Louisiana and has been president of Venture Oil and Gas, and chairman of Omni Oil and Gas. His experience includes generating geological prospects and drilling funds, acquiring oil and gas leases and producing properties, mergers, and supervising drilling and completion of wells. Johnson attended the University of Texas at Austin majoring in geology and petroleum land management. He is a member of Texas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners, Independent Petroleum Association of America, and Louisiana Oil and Gas Association.

Francis NeillFrancis Neill, SPE, has been appointed chief executive officer (CEO) at Ziebel. Before this, he was the CEO of EV. He has several years of experience in the well intervention and subsea sectors. He has been CEO of Gravitec Downhole Instruments, managing director of Brinker, marketing and technology director/casedhole director for Expro, deputy managing director/subsea control systems general manager for Kvaerner Oilfield Products, and compensation and benefits manager for Schlumberger. Neill holds a BSc degree in civil engineering from the University of Bristol.

Michael StoverMichael Stover, SPE, retired from Marathon Oil Corp. as vice president of operations services after 30 years of service with the company. He joined Marathon as a roustabout, and in 1991, transferred to the company’s international group, where he was responsible for reservoir and economic studies for the Marathon-operated fields in Ireland, Tunisia, and Norway. Later, as part of the company’s corporate strategic planning group, Stover was responsible for business planning and corporate portfolio modeling, which supported the reorganization of USX Corp. that led to the establishment of Marathon as a standalone company. In 2009, he became the director of central evaluation and financial planning, responsible for providing financial and portfolio analysis. He assumed his current position in 2013. Stover holds a BS in petroleum and natural gas engineering from Pennsylvania State University.

In Memoriam

Stefan Traian MocutaŞtefan Traian Mocuţa, SPE, died on 28 October 2015 at age 83. An SPE member since 1994, he was awarded the SPE Regional Service Award for South, Central, and East Europe in 2004 for his contributions to the establishment and development of the SPE Romanian Section. Mocuţa was a member of the SPE Enhanced Oil Recovery European Steering Committee and was actively involved in the SPE Romanian Section’s technical activities. He spent more than 40 years of his professional career in the field of petroleum reservoir geology at the Institutului de Cercetări şi Proiectări Tehnologice (ICPT), Câmpina, Romania, where he advanced to the position of senior fellow, and also held several managerial positions, including general manager. He completed more than 200 studies on petroleum reservoirs in Romania, Egypt, Jordan, Ecuador, Libya, and Hungary. Between 1994 and 1996, Mocuţa served as a senator in the Romanian Senate, focusing on political and social issues. In 1996, he returned to ICPT as adviser. He also taught at the Petroleum Gas University of Ploieşti. For his contributions to the petroleum industry, he was awarded the Diploma of Excellence in Research by ICPT Câmpina. Mocuţa graduated with a degree in geology from the Petroleum, Gas, and Geology Institute in Bucharest and received a PhD in geology from the same institute.

Member Deaths

James C. Anderson, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Paul M. Carraway, San Antonio, Texas, USA
Richard Dean Dunham, Midland, Texas, USA
Raymond W. Harmer, Snoqualmie, Washington
Saul D. Laurel, Houston, Texas, USA
Robert S. Miller, San Diego, California, USA
John B. Morrison, Palm Desert, California, USA