SPE Announces 2016 International Award Winners

By SPE Staff 28 Jun 2016

Please join SPE in congratulating the 2016 SPE International Award recipients. The SPE Board of Directors approved the 2016 International Award recipients at their recent meeting in Girdwood, Alaska. Sixteen international award committees selected these winners from a pool of first rate candidates. The recipients were recommended to the board and approved because of their outstanding and significant technical, professional, and service contributions to SPE and the petroleum industry. 2016 SPE President D. Nathan Meehan will present the awards to the recipients during the Annual Awards Banquet at the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in Dubai.

 Honorary Membership  

Ali A. Daneshy
C. Shah Kabir
Sunil L. Kokal
Daniel Moos *

Distinguished Membership 

Curtis A. Cheatham
Budhin Deuri
Jean-Marc Dumas
Fred E. Dupriest
Bala R. Gadiyar
Osayande Igiehon
David G. Kersey
John E. Killough
Jenn-Tai Liang
Jon E. Olson
Martin Rylance
Robello Samuel
Vijay K. Shrivastava
Allan J. Twynam
Eric van Oort
Yiaw Hin Wee
Michael D. Zuber

John Franklin Carll Award 

Christine A. Ehlig-Economides

Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal  

George J. Hirasaki

Lester C. Uren Award

Bobby D. Poe, Jr. *

DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal  

Behrooz Fattahi *
C. Susan Howes

Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal  

David A. Donohue

Robert Earll McConnell Award

Yuri F. Makogon *    

Public Service Award

Richard J. Murphy *

Distinguished Service Award

Leon Beugelsdijk *
Stephen K. Cheung
Arnis Judzis *
Gene M. Narahara
Bernard J. Seiller *

Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty 

Kishore K. Mohanty

Young Member Outstanding Service Award 

Bandar A. Alkhamies
Toby T. Deen
Chiedozie K. Ekweribe
Esuru R. Okoroafor
Odunayo Oladugba

Cedric K. Ferguson Medal 

Georg M. Mittermeir
Material-Balance Method for Dual-Porosity Reservoirs With Recovery Curves To Model the Matrix/Fracture Transfer    

Completions Optimization and Technology Award 

Ding Zhu

Drilling Engineering Award 

Robello Samuel

Formation Evaluation Award 

Arthur C. Cheng

Health, Safety, Security, Environment, and Social Responsibility Award 

Marina M. Voskanian

Management and Information Award

Stephen H. Begg

Production and Operations Award

Brian J. Schwanitz

Projects, Facilities, and Construction Award 

Jefferson L. Creek

Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award

Russell T. Johns

*Automatically elected as SPE Distinguished Members

Funded by AIME