SPE Announces International Award Winners for 2014

By SPE Staff 7 Jul 2014

Please join the SPE in congratulating the 2014 SPE International Award winners. The SPE Board of Directors approved the 2014 International Award recipients at their recent meeting in Cartagena, Colombia. Seventeen international award committees recommended these winners to the board because of their outstanding and significant technical, professional, and service contributions to SPE and the petroleum industry. The winners were chosen from a pool of first rate candidates. SPE President Jeff Spath will present the awards to the winners at the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE) in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Here is the list of winners.

Honorary Membership 
Adam (Ted) Bourgoyne, BEI, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
*Ali Dogru, Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
S. M. Farouq Ali, H.O.R Tech, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Thomas Perkins, ARCO (retired) Dallas, Texas, USA
Albert Reynolds, University of Tulsa, Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
*Mary Wheeler, University of Texas, Austin, Texas, USA

John Franklin Carll Award 
A. Daniel Hill, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA

Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal 
*Marvin Gearhart, Gearhart Companies, Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Lester C. Uren Award
*Birol Dindoruk, Shell, Houston, Texas USA

Robert Earl McConnell Award 
No winner selected 

Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal
Andrew Gould, BG Group, Reading, Berkshire, UK

DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal 
Syed A. Ali, Schlumberger, Sugar Land, Texas, USA

Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty 
Thomas A. Blasingame, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas

Public Service Award 
D. Nathan Meehan, Baker Hughes, Houston, Texas, USA

Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award
Maria das Gracas Silva Foster, Petrobras, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Distinguished Service Award
Kamel Bennaceur, Schlumberger, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Marco Brignoli, Eni E&P, San Donato Milanese, Italy
*Helen Chang, Nexen Energy ULC (a CNOOC Limited company), Calgary, Alberta, Canada
*Willem Schulte, SOGIC, Heemstede, The Netherlands

Distinguished Membership 
Usman Ahmed, Baker Hughes, Galveston, Texas, USA
Michael Brulé, IBM, Sugar Land, Texas, USA
David Burnett, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA
Robert Burton, ConocoPhillips, Houston, Texas, USA
Maria A. Capello, Kuwait Oil Company, Ahmadi, Kuwait
Abhijit Dandekar, University of Alaska, Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Mojdeh Delshad, University of Texas, Austin, Texas, USA
Karen Hagedorn, ExxonMobil, Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Liu He, Research Institute of Petroleum Exploration and Development, Beijing China
Delores Hinkle, Marathon, Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Jane Moring, XTO Energy, Arlington, Texas, USA
Karen Olson, Southwestern Energy, Houston, Texas, USA
Mary O'neill, Shell, Houston, Texas, USA
Mustafa Onur, Istanbul Technical University, Istanbul, Turkey
David Schechter, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA
Kamy Sepehrnoori, University of Texas, Austin, Texas, USA
Thomas Sifferman, ETTP Consulting, Carrollton, Texas, USA
Xiuli Wang, Baker Hughes, Katy, Texas, USA
C. Dean Wehunt, Chevron, Houston, Texas, USA

Cedric K. Ferguson Medal and Certificate 
Joachim Moortgat (Medal) , Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, USA
Zhidong Li (Certificate), ExxonMobil, The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Abbas Firoozabadi (Certificate), Reservoir Engineering Research Institute, Palo Alto, California, USA
Injection in Vertical and Horizontal Cores: Measurements and Numerical Simulation   

Completions Optimization and Technology Award 
Jennifer Miskimins, Barree & Associates, Lakewood, Colorado, USA

Drilling Engineering Award (2015)
Neal Adams, Neal Adams Services, Jersey Village, Texas, USA
Rolv Rommetveit, Edrilling Solutions, Bergen, Norway was previously approved as the recipient of the 2014 Drilling Engineering Award.  

Formation Evaluation Award 
Paul F. Worthington, Park Royd P&P (England) Limited, Ascot, United Kingdom

Health, Safety, Security, Environment and Social Responsibility Award
Angelo Madera, Eni E&P, San Donato Milanese, Italy

Management and Information Award 
Saeed Al-Mubarak, Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

Production and Operations Award 
Robert Sutton, Consultant, Katy, Texas, USA

Projects, Facilities and Construction Award 
Gene Kouba, Chevron, Houston, Texas, USA

Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award
Faruk Civan, University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma, USA    

Young Member Outstanding Service Award 

Ghaithan Al-Muntasheri, Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Matthew Balhoff University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas, USA
Manish Choudhary, Shell, Bangalore, India
Siddhartha Gupta, Schlumberger, Houston, Texas, USA
Ning Liu, Chevron, Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Amber Sturrock, Chevron, Houston, Texas, USA

The SPE Board Committee on Member Programs approves recommendations from the Society’s international award committees for recipients of SPE International Awards. Following approval by the Board Committee on Member Programs, the proposed recipients are submitted to the SPE Board for approval. The SPE President notifies nominees of their selections following Board approval. SPE Awards are presented during the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition.

*Automatically elected as SPE Distinguished Members