Former SPE President Among Texas A&M Distinguished Alumni for 2014

By Staff Report 22 May 2014

Former SPE president Dr. Stephen A. Holditch is among the 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients honored by Texas A&M University. 

Holditch is a former head of the Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering and former director of the Texas A&M Energy Institute. He also founded S.A. Holditch and Associates, which had a worldwide reputation for being able to solve the most difficult petroleum engineering problems. A member of the Corps of Cadets and Ross Volunteers, he received bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees from A&M, all in petroleum engineering. He and his wife, Ann, have funded multiple scholarships in petroleum engineering, as well as a Sul Ross Scholarship. They are Endowed Century Club donors to The Association of Former Students and their many gifts to the 12th Man Foundation and Texas A&M Foundation have earned them recognition as Eppright Distinguished Donors and members of the Legacy Society. Holditch, who served as SPE president during 2002, has been honored as a member of the Petroleum Engineering Academy of Distinguished Graduates and as an Outstanding Alumnus of the Dwight Look College of Engineering. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1995 and has been honored with many of SPE’s top technical honors, including the Legends of Hydraulic Fracturing Award, which he received in 2014.

Since the inception of the award in 1962, only 237 of Texas A&M’s 410,000 former students have been recognized with the Distinguished Alumnus Award, the highest honor bestowed upon a former student of Texas A&M University. Awarded jointly by the university and The Association, this award recognizes those Aggies who have achieved excellence in their chosen professions and made meaningful contributions to Texas A&M University and their local communities.

“Texas A&M is one of the nation’s great, public land-grant institutions in large part because of the contributions these outstanding Aggies have made to their professions, their communities and their alma mater,” said Texas A&M Interim President Dr. Mark Hussey.