International Award Committees Position

Deliverables and Expectations

  • Read and rank nominations
  • Participate in ranking ballots for selection of award recipient
  • Participate in confirmation of award recipient

Qualifications and Experience

Award committee members must be SPE members in good standing, and they must have knowledge or experience in areas related to the society and professionalism. Technical Award committee members must be content experts within the appropriate technical discipline.

For the Technical Award committees, volunteers for the specific technical award committees must be content experts in one of the following:

  • Completions Optimization and Technology
  • Drilling Engineering; Formation Evaluation
  • Health, Safety, Security, Environment and Social Responsibility
  • Management and Information
  • Production Operations
  • Projects, Facilities and Construction
  • Reservoir Description and Dynamics

The Professional Award recognizes distinguished service to the industry, education, Society, or public. Volunteers should have an interest in a particular area, such as outstanding service to SPE, research, classroom teaching, the public, or the profession. Learn about SPE Awards.

Expected Time Commitment

The International Award committees can expect to conduct a phone conference to start the deliberation process. The volunteer may spend 2 to 4 hours reviewing nomination packets on a SharePoint web page, and participate in 2 to 3 email ballots for ranking and final selection of an award recipient. Dependent upon the number of nominations, volunteers can expect to spend 6 to 8 hours on committee business.

About the committee

SPE confers numerous honors and awards that recognize the contributions made by members to the Society, the engineering profession, and their communities. The International Award committees review applications and select the recipients of the Technical and Professional Awards.

Award committees are composed of members with either knowledge of the industry, Society, or technical disciplines. Each International Award committee consists of a minimum of 6 members. The committees have one chairperson who will lead the Committee in its function and directs how they achieve their goals for selection of award winners.

add any local scripts here