Awards Home


✉ |

2023 Judge Portal

We thank you for your service!

SPE Award Subcommittee Members

(Cedric K. Ferguson/Rossiter Raymond Subcommittee Members Excluded)

NOTE: SPE Award nominations and letters of recommendation are confidential.

The 2023 SPE Awards season is underway. Nominations are actively coming in and we are ramping up to the judging phase which will begin in March of 2023.

You are currently serving on an SPE award subcommittee, or on more than one award subcommittee. The term to serve on this subcommittee is three years. Some subcommittee members are in their second or third year, and some will be new to the award subcommittee serving their first year in 2023. A Chair for the following year, 2024, will be selected from a pool of subcommittee members in their third year of service. Said member will serve as Chair for one year.

Important Dates & Deadlines For 2023

10 January – A conference call/orientation has been scheduled with the Chair of each subcommittee. If you are a Chair and did not receive this invitation, please email to advise.

1 February – A conference call/orientation has been scheduled to include all subcommittee members/judgesIf you did not receive this invitation, please email to advise.

15  February – Nominations for international awards due

10 March – Supporting letters and CV/Resumes (or LinkedIn Profiles) Due (for international candidates).

March – Subcommittee members will be advised when we are ready for you to log in and begin judging 

March/April – A conference call will be scheduled for each subcommittee to discuss results of 1st round judging. Further instructions and deadlines will be given at that time. 

15 May – Recommendations for proposed award recipients due to the board of directors. 

Please Note: We will make every effort to accommodate different time zones when scheduling conference call orientations and deliberations. Given the wide range of time zones, meeting times will fall outside of standard work hours for some. We do ask that you join these calls if they fall within a couple/few hours of your usual hours. For those unable to join, I will email meeting notes to each subcommittee member. If you would like to discuss the meeting notes, please reach out to your Chair directly.

Important Files/Links For 2023

Click Here to View Award Rules
OpenWater (Judging Platform) Log-In
Subcommittee Member/Judge Orientation Video Presentation
(Including Judging Instructions)

Judging Phases

Round One – Rating
Round Two – Ranking
Round Three – Vote for First

Award Subcommittee Chairs for 2023

Carll, Lucas & Uren – Dr. Ray (Zhenhua) Rui
Cedric K. Ferguson – Dr. Zoya Heidari
Completions Optimization & Technology – Dr. Margaretha Catharina M. Rijken
DAA for PE Faculty – Dr. Yin Xiaolong
Data Science & Engineering Analytics – Ali Rezaei
DeGolyer, Rand & McConnell – George Koperna
Distinguished Member & Honorary Member – C. Susan Howes
Distinguished Service – David G. Kersey
Drilling Engineering – Fred E. Dupriest
Formation Evaluation – Dr. Yildiray Cinar
Health, Safety & Environment – Caroline Kannwischer
Management Award – Bernadette Marie Johnson
Production & Operations – Dr. Jennifer Lynne Miskimins
Projects, Facilities & Construction – Dr. Phaneendra Kondapi
Public Service – Dr. Stephen Cheung
Reservoir Description & Dynamics – Neha Bansal
Sustainability & Stewardship – Johana Louise Dunlop
Giovanni Paccaloni Young Professional Service – Dr. Rafael Eduardo Hincapie