Curtis W. Mewbourne

Curtis W. Mewbourne, SPE, was inducted into the Petroleum Hall of Fame by The Permian Basin Petroleum Museum in Midland, Texas. Instituted in 1967, the Petroleum Hall of Fame honors persons and firms who have made outstanding contributions to the development of the petroleum industry or have served as worthy examples to those in the industry. Mewbourne founded the Mewbourne Oil Company in 1965, which has drilled more than 1,000 wells in the Permian Basin and 1,400 wells in the Anadarko Basin. Mewbourne funded the Mewbourne Hall of Mathematics and Science at All Saints Episcopal School in Tyler, Texas, and St. John’s School in Houston. Mewbourne Oil Company is the largest supporter of student scholarships and internships over the past 25 years at the University of Oklahoma, and Mewbourne has endowed seven Mewbourne Chairs in Petroleum Engineering and the Mewbourne Professorship in Petroleum Engineering at the university. He holds a BS in petroleum engineering from the University of Oklahoma and was granted the honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters by the university in 2002.