UNAM Wins 2017 PetroBowl Championship

The National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) SPE student chapter won the 2017 PetroBowl championship, defeating the University of Benin team. UNAM was also the winner of the championship in 2015. The University of Oklahoma team came in third.

After several rounds of regional qualifiers, 32 SPE student chapter teams from the six SPE regions were selected for the final competition, which was held 9 October during the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in San Antonio, Texas.

Sixteen rounds of the quiz, which tests students’ knowledge of petroleum engineering and SPE, narrowed the teams to UNAM and the University of Benin for the final round. 2018 SPE President Darcy Spady moderated the championship round and awarded the trophies to the winners.

Slideshow From the Competition


2017 PetroBowl Championship by SPE International