Congratulations to the 2012 International Award Winners

Please join SPE in congratulating the 2012 SPE International Award recipients.  The SPE Board of Directors approved the 2012 International Award recipients at their recent meeting. Seventeen international award committees recommended these winners to the board because of their outstanding and significant technical, professional, and service contributions to SPE and the petroleum industry. The winners were chosen from a pool of first rate candidates. SPE President Ganesh Thakur will present the awards to the winners at ATCE in San Antonio Texas.


2012 Winners

Honorary Member Award

  • Iraj Ershaghi, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, California, USA
  • L. Kent Thomas, Consultant, Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
  • G. Paul Willhite, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas, USA
  • Andrew A. Young, Consultant and Independent Company Director, Artarmon, New South Wales, Australia

John Franklin Carll Award

  • Ali H. Dogru, Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia*

Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal

  • Thomas A. Blasingame, Texas A&M, College Station, Texas, USA

Lester C. Uren Award

  • Marco R. Thiele, Streamsim Technologies/Stanford University, San Francisco, California, USA*

Robert Earll McConnell Award

  • Norman R. Warpinski, Pinnacle, Houston, Texas, USA

Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal

  • Claudio Descalzi, ENI, San Donato Milanese, Italy

Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty

  • Johannes Bruining, Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands

DeGolyer Distinguished Service Award

  • Sunil L. Kokal, Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

Distinguished Service Award

  • Syed A. Ali, Schlumberger, Sugar Land, Texas, USA*
  • James M. Pappas, RPSEA, Sugar Land, Texas, USA*
  • Jeanne M. Perdue, Occidental, Houston, Texas, USA*

Public Service Award

  • Forrest E. Hoglund, Hoglund Interests, Dallas, Texas, USA

Distinguished Member

  • Stephen A. Baumgartner, Marathon Oil, Houston, Texas, USA
  • Larry P. Brown, Consultant, Allen, Texas, USA
  • Rahul Dhir, Cairn India Limited, Gurgaon, India
  • Anwar Raja Ibrahim, Petro Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Abul K. Jamaluddin, Schlumberger, Houston, Texas, USA
  • Louis Mattar, Fekete Associates, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • William J. O’Brien, ConocoPhillips, Houston, Texas, USA
  • Shirish L. Patil, University of Alaska, Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
  • Carlos A. Pedroso, Petrobras SA, Macae,  Brazil
  • Phil Rae, InTuition Energy Associates, Singapore
  • Cem Sarica, University of Tulsa, Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
  • Jerome J. Schubert, Texas A&M, College Station, Texas, USA
  • Dan E. Scott, Baker Hughes, Montgomery, Texas, USA
  • Tapas K. Sengupta, Oil and Natural Gas Company, Mumbai, India

Cedric K. Ferguson Medal and Certificate

  • Khafiz Muradov, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, United Kingdom (Medal)
  • David Davies, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, United Kingdom (Certificate)
    “Novel Analytical Methods of Temperature Interpretation in Horizontal Wells”

Completions Optimization and Technology Award

  • Hazim H. Abass, Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

Drilling Engineering Award (2013)

  • Fred E. Dupriest, ExxonMobil, Houston, Texas, USA
  • Kenneth E. Gray, University of Texas, Austin, Texas USA was previously approved as the recipient of the 2012 Drilling Engineering Award.

Formation Evaluation Award

  • Leif Larsen, Kappa Engineering, Royneberg, Norway

Health, Safety, Security, Environment, and Social Responsibility Award

  • Clarion E. Johnson, ExxonMobil, Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Management and Information Award

  • William J. Haskett, Decision Strategies, Houston, Texas, USA

Production and Operations Award

  • John C. Patterson, ConocoPhillips, Houston, Texas, USA

Projects, Facilities, and Construction Award

  • Carlos F. Mastrangelo, Petrobras, Houston, Texas, USA

Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award

  • Robert A. Wattenbarger, Texas A&M, College Station, Texas, USA

Young Member Outstanding Service Award

  • Carlos A. Chalbaud, GDF Suez, London, United Kingdom
  • Abhijeet Kulkarni, A/S Dansk Shell, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Maximiliano Medina, Statoil, Calgary, Canada
  • Javier Alejandro Rodriguez, Pacific Rubiales Energy, Bogota, Colombia

International Distinguished Corporate Support Award

  • Shell, The Netherlands


The SPE Board Committee on Membership approves recommendations from the Society’s award committees for recipients of SPE Honors and Awards.   Following approval by the Board Committee on Membership, the proposed recipients are submitted to the SPE Board for approval.  The SPE President notifies nominees of their selections following Board approval.  Most SPE Awards are presented during the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition.

* Automatically elected as SPE Distinguished Members

8 thoughts on “Congratulations to the 2012 International Award Winners”

  1. It is very nice to honor people that dew honor. Am delighted to be a member of SPE International and my dew respect to the President Ganesh Thakur and the board of directors for recognizing participants of the award. Big congratulations to the 2012 international award winners. Its well with SPE.

  2. To all my distinguished colleagues and friends who are receiving recognition for your selfless volunteerism we thank you and want you to know that we stand with you. SPE and this industry would not be the same without you and others like you who so williingly give of their time, talents and treasures. All the best!

  3. I am sure you are being honoured for your great work and good character. Pls remain humble and pleasant and continue to respect other’s views.
    Congrats from Mal Bandal.

  4. Congratulations to you all on your respective awards for the outstanding contributions to the oil & gas industry.

Comments are closed.