Congratulations to 2012 SPE Awards Winners in the Latin America and Caribbean Region

Please join SPE in congratulating the 2012 SPE Awards winners in the Latin America and Caribbean Region.

Congratulations to our International Awards winners from Latin America sections:

Distinguished Membership

  • Carlos Pedroso, Petrobras

Young Member Outstanding Service Award

  • Javier Rodriguez, Pacific Rubiales Energy

We would also like to congratulate our Regional Awards winners:

Outstanding Young Member

  • Luciano Fucello, Canoel International Energy
  • Xiomara Herrera, Ecopetrol

Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award

  • Freddy Escobar, Universidad Surcolombiana

Regional Service

  • Carlos Naranjo, Ecopetrol
  • Eduardo Barreiro, Independent Consultant
  • Glenn Sairras, Staatsolie

Completions Optimization and Tech.

  • Sidhartha Sur, Mansarovar Energy

Drilling Engineering

  • Clemente Goncalves, Petrobras

Formation Evaluation

  • Cesar Patino, Ecopetrol

Management and Information

  • Alfredo Viola, Independent Consultant

Production and Operations

  • Telmo Gerlero, Pluspetrol

Projects, Facilities and Construction

  • Carlos Novelli, Pan American Energy

Reservoir Description and Dynamics

  • Miguel A. Lavia, Apache Corporation


The SPE Board Committee on Membership reviews and approves the Society’s award committees’ recommendations for recipients of SPE International Awards.  Following approval by the Board Committee on Membership, the proposed recipients are submitted to the SPE Board of Directors for approval.  The SPE President notifies recipients of their selections following Board approval.  SPE International Awards are presented during the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition.