Auzan Soedarmo - 2017 Henry DeWitt Smith Fellowship Winner Announced!

Auzan Soedarmo has been confirmed as the 2017 recipient for the Henry DeWitt Smith Fellowship. This Fellowship is awarded to one promising graduate student who has shown merit in their studies and achievements so far.

Soedarmo earned his B.S (Chemical Engineering) from Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB), Indonesia, in 2010. He then worked for ExxonMobil Indonesia as a Facilities Surveillance Engineer. In 2013, he was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship for MS (masters) study. In 2015, he obtained MS degree in Petroleum Engineering (PE) from University of Tulsa (TU), working on paraffin (wax) deposition research. Currently, he is a Ph.D. research assistant at Tulsa University Fluid Flow Project (TUFFP) under PE department at TU.

He is now working on upscaling study of multiphase flow in pipes. He expects to complete his Ph.D. program in 2018. He aspires to be a subject matter expert in flow assurance and production engineering. He is married and has one daughter.

This award is funded through SPEs Parent Organization the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers (AIME). This award is presented to one student from each of AIMEs affiliated organizations in honor of Henry DeWitt Smith. Find out more about the Award and past winners at