JPT logo
SPE logo

SPE News

President’s Award for Section Excellence Announced

The winners of the 2012 SPE President’s Award for Section Excellence have been named, and the awards will be presented during the President’s Luncheon at the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in San Antonio.

This year’s winners are the Aberdeen, Bangalore, Bergen, Roswell, Samara, San Joaquin Valley, Saudi Arabia, Vietnam, and Warri Nigeria sections.

The Most Innovative Section awards were won by the Germany, Gulf Coast, Port Harcourt Nigeria, and South Saskatchewan sections. The Most Improved sections are Evangeline and Korea, and the Atyrau-Kazakhstan and Mumbai sections received honorable mentions.

New SPE Dues Structure Implemented

A new SPE dues structure took effect on 1 September. The new structure removes age and salary as factors to determine dues amounts and has fewer dues rates overall. Most members will see no change in their dues amount.

The SPE Board of Directors approved the new, simplified dues structure during a periodic review of the dues structure. For more information, go to

Colombian Section Celebrates 45th Year

The SPE Colombian Section celebrated its 45th anniversary with a reception in Bogota, Colombia in July. More than 180 members attended the event. Awards were given in the categories of excellence, integrity, professionalism, lifelong learning, diversity, volunteerism, innovation, and social responsibility.

Tulsa Doctoral Student Wins Fellowship

Mojtaba Pordel Shahri of the University of Tulsa’s Drilling Research Projects division won the 2012 Henry DeWitt Smith Fellowship.

Shahri received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in petroleum engineering and is now pursuing a PhD degree in petroleum engineering at the University of Tulsa. He has authored more than 20 publications in different journals and for conferences. He is currently conducting research on the prediction of reservoir stress paths.

Fellowship candidates must be SPE members, pursuing a graduate degree in petroleum engineering or a related field, and have another source of income such as a job, family support, or other fellowships. The fellowship is named for the California Institute of Technology’s Henry DeWitt Smith, who set an example of inspired leadership, professional success, personal integrity, and dedication in the mining industry. The fellowship was created in his memory by his widow Ellen Burke Smith. Applications are due each year by 1 June.