Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership is the highest honor that SPE presents to an individual and is limited to 0.1% of the SPE total membership. This elite group represents those individuals who have given outstanding service to SPE or have demonstrated distinguished scientific or engineering achievements in the fields within the technical scope of SPE.

SPE Member Anil Kumar received the high distinction of Honorary Membership at the 2017 ATCE Annual Awards Ceremony.

View Honorary Members+


Nominee Eligibility

Anyone demonstrating exceptional service to SPE or outstanding achievements in the industry.

A nominee is not eligible:

  • If they are on the current SPE Board of Directors or Distinguished Member committee or those who have served in these positions during the past 2 years.

Note: Once awarded, the member is ineligible for nomination for all other society international awards.

To Nominate

  1. Fill out nomination form.
  2. Complete all required information on nomination form, incomplete nominations will not be accepted.
  3. Include a complete statement of the reasons for proposing the candidate, with a record of the candidate's professional and industrial achievements in detail.
  4. Collaborate with colleagues to send letters supporting this nomination.

All information about the candidate and their qualifications for the award must be included on the online nomination form. Candidates will be sent an email requesting a CV/resume when you submit the nomination. Nominations and letters of recommendation are confidential. Candidates remain on the active consideration list for 3 years. If a candidate is not selected during the 3-year active consideration cycle, you can nominate them again if all other eligibility requirements are met.



According to a resolution passed in November 1941 by the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers Board of Directors, Honorary Membership may be awarded in appreciation of outstanding service to the Institute and its Societies or in recognition of distinguished scientific or engineering achievement.