2020 Board of Directors

group photo of SPE Board

The Board of Directors is the policy-making and governing body of SPE. Its board committees oversee many of SPE's administrative and operating responsibilities. The board retains final authority on all SPE matters, including any actions the board committees may take.


Shauna Noonan2020 SPE President

Shauna Noonan
Occidental Petroleum
High-resolution photo

Shauna Noonan is the director of artificial lift engineering for Occidental Petroleum Corporation, based in Houston, where she directs the company’s efforts in artificial lift system performance globally. Prior to joining Oxy in late 2015, she worked worldwide on artificial lift projects and technology development at ConocoPhillips and Chevron for over 22 years. She has authored or co-authored more than 25 technical publications on the subject of artificial lift and is a frequent speaker at industry events. 

She has been an avid SPE volunteer in many roles since first serving as a student section officer. She served on the SPE International Board of Directors as the Technical Director for Production and Operations from 2012-2015. She has driven the development of industry standards and recommended practices for artificial lift systems while serving as chair for ISO and API committees, and has received industry awards for her contributions to the discipline.   

Noonan holds a BS degree in petroleum engineering from the University of Alberta. She is the proud mother of two daughters.


Tom Blasingame2021 SPE President

Tom Blasingame
Texas A&M University
High-resolution photo

Tom Blasingame is a Professor and holder of the Robert L. Whiting Professorship in the Department of Petroleum Engineering at Texas A&M University in College Station Texas.  He holds B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from Texas A&M — all in Petroleum Engineering.  In teaching and research activities, he focuses on petrophysics, reservoir engineering, analysis/interpretation of well performance, exploitation of unconventional reservoirs, and technical mathematics. He also holds a joint appointment in the Department of Geology and Geophysics at Texas A&M.  He served as Assistant Department Head (Graduate Programs) for the Department of Petroleum Engineering at Texas A&M from 1997 to 2003, and has been recognized with several teaching and service awards from Texas A&M.

Blasingame is a Distinguished Member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers (2000) and the recipient of the SPE Distinguished Service Award (2005), the SPE Uren Award (for technology contributions before age 45) (2006), the SPE Lucas Medal (SPE's preeminent technical award) (2012), the SPE DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal (2013), the SPE Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty (2014), and SPE Honorary Membership (2015).  He has served as an SPE Distinguished Lecturer (2005-2006) and as the SPE Technical Director for Reservoir Description and Dynamics (2015-2018).  He has prepared approximately 160 technical articles and has chaired numerous technical committees and technical meetings.  


Sami Alnuaim2019 SPE President

Sami Alnuaim
Saudi Aramco
High-resolution photo

Sami Alnuaim has been with Saudi Aramco for 30 years, where he has worked in reservoir engineering, production engineering, research and development, and at the upstream computer center. He currently serves as manager of the petroleum engineering application services department where he leads information technology support for all upstream operations, including exploration, drilling, production, reservoir engineering, and facility design. A current area of focus is reservoir simulation of giga cells and giga models using Saudi Aramco’s GigaPOWERS simulator.

Alnuaim has a long history of service to SPE and is currently a member of the SPE Middle East Board of Directors. He has won several local, regional, and international awards, including the SPE Regional Service Award for the Middle East in 2010 and the SPE Distinguished Service and SPE Distinguished Member awards in 2011. He recently served on the society’s DeGolyer, Rand, and McConnell Awards Committee and the 2017 SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition Executive Advisory Committee.

Alnuaim obtained BS and MS degrees from King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, and a PhD degree from the University of Texas at Austin, all in petroleum engineering. He completed the Wharton Advanced Management Program at the University of Pennsylvania and the Advanced Asian Business and Culture Program at Pennsylvania State University.


Mark RubinSecretary

Mark A. Rubin
SPE CEO and Executive Vice President
High-resolution photo

Mark Rubin is responsible for overall management of SPE. He works with the Board of Directors and senior staff to develop strategic and business plans and formulate the organization’s goals, objectives, policies, and programs. He also organizes and directs the global staff organization, which includes offices in Dallas, Houston, Kuala Lumpur, Dubai, London, and Moscow, to ensure the accomplishment of SPE’s mission.

He was appointed executive director of SPE in August 2001. Prior to this appointment, he served as upstream general manager for the American Petroleum Institute (API) in Washington, D.C. He joined API in 1988 and held a series of positions working on federal regulatory and legislative matters as well as technical standards development.

A member of SPE since 1979, Rubin held petroleum engineering positions for Unocal in Houston and east Texas from 1981 to 1987 and for Buttes Resources in Dallas 1987–88. Rubin is a member of the American Society of Association Executives and Council of Engineering and Scientific Society Executives. He has been a member of the National Petroleum Council, Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission, and International Association of Oil and Gas Producers. He earned a BS degree in petroleum engineering from Texas A&M University and an MBA from Southern Methodist University.


Director for Academia

Ramona Graves

Ramona Graves
Colorado School of Mines (Ret.)

Technical Directors

David ReidDrilling

David Reid

Johana DunlopHealth, Safety, Environment, and Sustainability

Johana Dunlop
Affiliate – Schlumberger Professional Societies Program

Erdal OzkanReservoir

Erdal Ozkan
Colorado School of Mines

Terry PalischCompletions

Terry Palisch
Carbo Ceramics

Robert PearsonProduction and Facilities

Robert Pearson
Glynn Resources


Birol DindorukManagement and Information

Birol Dindoruk

Regional Directors

Omowumi Iledare

Africa Region

Omowumi Iledare
University of Cape Coast

Nasir Darman

Asia Pacific Region

Nasir Darman

Jean-Marc DumasEurope Region

Jean-Marc Dumas
Aedes Energy International

Cesar PatiñoLatin America and the Caribbean Region

Cesar Patiño

Qasem Al-Kayoumi

Middle East and North Africa Region

Qasem Al-Kayoumi

Faisal Al-NughaimishMiddle East and North Africa Region

Faisal Al-Nughaimish
Saudi Aramco

Steve CheungNorth America Region

Steve Cheung
SteveIOR Consultants

Zachary Evans

North America Region

Zachary Evans

Barry HansonNorth America Region

Barry Hanson

Aizhana JussupbekovaRussia and the Caspian Region

Aizhana Jussupbekova

T.K. SenguptaSouth Asia and the Pacific Region

T.K. Sengupta
ONGC (Ret.)