Distinguished Lecturers

Each year, SPE selects a group of professionals, nominated by their peers, to share their knowledge and expertise with SPE members around the globe.

About the Program

DL logo

The purpose of the program is to provide SPE sections with outstanding speakers for section meetings, and to recognize the professional contributions of the selected Distinguished Lecturers. The program promotes SPE’s mission to connect a global community of engineers, scientists, and related energy professionals to exchange knowledge, innovate, and advance their technical and professional competence regarding the exploration, development, and production of oil and gas and related energy resources to achieve a safe, secure, and sustainable energy future. It is funded primarily by the SPE Foundation through member donations, as well as a contribution from Offshore Europe. SPE appreciates the companies that allow their professionals to serve as lecturers and the additional support from AIME.

From JPT: Distinguished Lecturer Topics Announced for 2023-2024

Download a historical list of all of our Distinguished Lecturers (xls)

What It Is Like to be an SPE Distinguished Lecturer?

Are you interested in becoming an SPE Distinguished Lecturer? Charles Pope shares tips on the nomination process and other stories from his travels.

Section Distinguished Lecturer Evaluation Contest

Attend a section meeting featuring a Distinguished Lecturer. Listen, engage and evaluate the DL's presentation. Section members can submit evaluations for every Distinguished Lecturer meeting.

Complete the evaluation

Nominate a Lecturer

Distinguished Lecturers are nominated by their peers and selected by the Distinguished Lecturer Committee based on the quality, timeliness, and relevance of their presentations. We solicit nominations from around the world to cover all disciplines.

Nominate someone to be a Distinguished Lecturer

DL committee group

Distinguished Lecturer Committee

Each year, the Distinguished Lecturer Committee selects topics and lecturers for the program. The committee is composed of up to 36 members, with one Regional Member from each region serving a three-year term, and Standing Members appointed by the SPE President-elect serving a maximum term of three years.

Volunteer for the committee

Distinguished Lecturer Series: Current and Past Seasons Available!

DL presentations are available on-demand and exclusive to SPE members on SPE Energy Stream. Watch now.

Memorable Moments

Distinguished Lecturers share their stories.

"Really, you feel humbled."

Muhammad Khakwani

SPE Distinguished Lecturer 2018