Lester C. Uren Award

The Lester C. Uren Award recognizes distinguished achievement in the technology of petroleum engineering. Recipients of this award automatically become Distinguished Members.

View a List of Previous Award Winners+

Nominee Eligibility

  • Must be a living member of SPE or a group with at least one SPE member.
  • Must have been younger than 45 when the work being recognized was completed.

A nominee is not eligible:

  • If they are on the current SPE Board of Directors, Lester C. Uren Award committee or those who have served in these positions during the past 2 years.
  • If they have received the Anthony F. Lucas or the John Franklin Carll Award in the last 5 years.
  • Based solely on technical achievements that resulted in an SPE technical award.

To Nominate

  1. Fill out nomination form.
  2. Complete all required information on nomination form; incomplete nominations will not be accepted.
  3. Include a complete statement of the reasons for proposing the candidate, with a record of the candidate's professional and industrial achievements in detail.
  4. Collaborate with colleagues to send letters supporting this nomination.

All information about the candidate and their qualifications for the award must be included on the online nomination form. Candidates will be sent an email requesting a CV/resume when you submit the nomination. Nominations and letters of recommendation are confidential. Candidates remain on the active consideration list for 3 years. If a candidate is not selected during the 3-year active consideration cycle, you can nominate them again if all other eligibility requirements are met.


About Lester C. Uren

Lester C. Uren was an author, researcher, and educator at the University of California for more than 40 years. He wrote the first petroleum-engineering textbook in 1924 and founded the first curriculum for petroleum engineering in 1915. His wide recognition as a leader in petroleum engineering education is seen by the fact that schools not only in the US and Canada, but also in Europe and South America, sent students to finish or undertake graduate work under Professor Uren. He combined the theoretical and practical aspects of petroleum engineering in such a manner that his method became a trademark during his long teaching career. He spent summers in the oil fields of California to familiarize himself with the practical working conditions of the engineer. Uren was not content to confine himself to the academic world, but demonstrated a remarkable spirit in putting the results of investigations and discussions based on both field and university work before active engineers. Professor Uren’s research activities were basic to the understanding of the science of petroleum engineering. He published more than160 articles on research, engineering applications, economics, and education in the field. An amplification of his petroleum-engineering handbook, now three volumes, is used as a standard reference work in most petroleum schools and oil companies.

The Lester C. Uren Award, established in 1963, recognizes distinguished achievement in the technology of petroleum engineering by a member who made the contribution before age 45. The candidate must be a living member of SPE.