Nomination Deadlines 

International Awards
15 February 2020

Regional Awards
1 March 2020


International Awards
✉| Email
Regional Awards
✉ | Email

Cynthia Thompson
SPE Awards and Recognition Manager
☎ | +1.972.952.9370

2020 Awards

View the full list of 2020 Award Recipients.

Health, Safety, and Environment Award

The SPE Health, Safety, and Environment Award recognizes outstanding accomplishments in the field of environmental protection, health, or safety in oil and gas exploration, drilling, or production operations. This award was formerly known as the Health, Safety, Security, Environment, and Social Responsibility Award.

2020 - John Thorogood
2019 - Sally M. Benson
2018 - Richard Haut
2017 - J. Jack Hinton
2016 - Marina M. Voskanian
2015 - Tom Knode
2014 - Angelo Madera
2013 - John M. Karish
2012 - Clarion E. Johnson
2011 - Zara Khatib
2010 - Alexander Barbey
2009 - John Veil
2008 - John A. Hall
2006 - Tom Gouldie
2005 - Terry L. Thoem
2004 - George H. Holliday
2003 - Andrew K. Wojtanowicz
2002 - Mark A. Shemaria
2001 - Magne Ognedal
2000 - Emmanuel M. Garland
1999 - Mary Jane Wilson
1998 - Anthony Read
1997 - Cheryl L.Stark
1996 - William A. Brommelsiek
1995 - Robert C. Ayers
1994 - Jacobus P. Visser
1993 - Harold W. Yates
1992 - Dan D. Caudle
1991 - R. Lyn Arscott


Nominee Eligibility

Must be a living professional member of SPE or a group, the lead of which is an SPE member.

A nominee is not eligible:

  • If they have received the John Franklin Carll Award, Lester C. Uren Award, DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal, or Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal
  • If they are on the current SPE Board of Directors, Health, Safety, Security, Environment, and Social Responsibility Award committee or those who have served in these positions during the past 2 years.

To Nominate

  1. Fill out nomination form.
  2. Complete all required information on nomination form; incomplete nominations will not be accepted.
  3. Include a complete statement of the reasons for proposing the candidate, with a record of the candidate's professional and industrial achievements in detail.
  4. Collaborate with colleagues to send letters supporting this nomination.
Small red flag

All information about the candidate and their qualifications for the award must be included on the online nomination form. Candidates will be sent an email requesting a CV/resume when you submit the nomination. Nominations and letters of recommendation are confidential. Candidates remain on the active consideration list for 3 years. If a candidate is not selected during the 3-year active consideration cycle, you can nominate them again if all other eligibility requirements are met.