Awards Home


✉ |

2024 Judge Portal

We thank you for your service!

SPE Award Subcommittee Members

(Cedric K. Ferguson/Rossiter Raymond Subcommittee Members Excluded)

NOTE: SPE Award nominations and letters of recommendation are confidential.

The 2024 SPE Awards season is underway. Nominations are actively coming in and we are ramping up to the judging phase which will begin in February/March of 2024.

You are currently serving on an SPE award subcommittee, or on more than one award subcommittee. The term to serve on this subcommittee is three years. Some subcommittee members are in their second or third year, and some will be new to the award subcommittee serving their first year in 2024. A Chair for the following year, 2024, will be selected from a pool of subcommittee members in their third year of service. Said member will serve as Chair for one year.

Important Dates & Deadlines For 2024

10 January – A conference call/orientation will be scheduled with the Chair of each subcommittee.

1 February – A conference call/orientation will be scheduled to include all subcommittee members/judges.

15 February – Nominations for international awards due.

25 February – Supporting letters and CV/Resumes (or LinkedIn Profiles) Due (for international candidates).

1 March – Nominations for regional awards due.

10 March – Supporting letters and CV/Resumes (or LinkedIn Profiles) Due (for regional candidates).

February/March – Subcommittee members will be advised when we are ready for you to log in and begin judging.

March/May – A conference call will be scheduled for each subcommittee to discuss results of first round judging. Further instructions and deadlines will be given at that time. 

15 May – Recommendations for proposed award recipients due to the board of directors. 

Please Note: We will make every effort to accommodate different time zones when scheduling conference call orientations and deliberations. Given the wide range of time zones, meeting times will fall outside of standard work hours for some. We do ask that you join these calls if they fall within a couple/few hours of your usual hours. For those unable to join, I will email meeting notes to each subcommittee member. If you would like to discuss the meeting notes, please reach out to your Chair directly.

Important Files/Links For 2024

Awards Home
Click Here to View Award Rules
OpenWater (Judging Platform) Log-In
International Judge Orientation 
(Including Judging Instructions)
How to Navigate the Judge Portal (pdf)

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: As a judge (or Regional/Technical Director) of an award committee, can I nominate a candidate for an award, or provide a letter of support for a candidate?
A: Leadership should maintain the optics of neutrality. We advise against nominating a candidate or providing a letter of support for a candidate for the award which you will be judging. You may, however, nominate or provide a letter of support for a candidate in a different award category — or you may nominate the candidate for an award equivalent to the one you are judging, but at the regional level.

Q: Should judges only consider items within the nomination packet, or can we research using public platforms?
A: Judges may research candidates using public platforms; however, this is not required. If a judge does choose to utilize public platforms, he/she should be consistent and research each candidate to remain consistent and fair.

Judging Phases

Round One – Rating
Round Two – Ranking
Round Three – Vote for First

Award Subcommittee Chairs for 2024

Carll, Lucas & Uren – Jo-Ann Ali-Nandalal
Cedric K. Ferguson – Berna Hascakir
Completions Optimization & Technology – Ali Ghalambor
DAA for PE Faculty – Ismail Mohd Saaid
Data Science & Engineering Analytics – Saeed Al-Mubarak
DeGolyer, Rand & McConnell – Madelyn Holtzclaw
Distinguished Member & Honorary Member – Nathan Meehan
Distinguished Service – Anil Ambastha
Drilling Engineering – Anthony Ogunkoya
Formation Evaluation – Klemens Katterbauer
Health, Safety & Environment – Roman Bulgachev
Management Award – Stephen Begg
Production & Operations – Anton Gryzlov
Projects, Facilities & Construction – Doreen Chin
Public Service – Richard Murphy
Reservoir Description & Dynamics – TBD
Sustainability & Stewardship – Jonathan Motherwell
Giovanni Paccaloni Young Professional Service – Zeudy Galban