Nomination Deadlines 

International Awards
15 February 2020

Regional Awards
1 March 2020


International Awards
✉| Email
Regional Awards
✉ | Email

Cynthia Thompson
SPE Awards and Recognition Manager
☎ | +1.972.952.9370

2020 Awards

View the full list of 2020 Award Recipients.

Management Award

The SPE Management Award recognizes outstanding achievements in or contributions to the advancement of management in the industry. This award was formerly known as the Management and Information Award, which has been retired.

2020 - Sushma Bhan
2019 - Jim Crompton
2018 - Pierre Delfiner
2017 - Reidar Bratvold
2016 - Stephen H. Begg
2015 - Art J. Schroeder, Jr.
2014 - Saeed Al-Mubarak
2013 - Andrei S. Popa
2012 - William J. Haskett
2011 - Donald L. Paul
2010 - Joseph L. Anders
2009 - Mehrzad Mahdavi
2008 - J. Roger Hite
2007 - David A. Archer
2006 - Richard Albert Startzman
2005 - T. Scott Hickman
2004 - Amiel David
2003 - James G. Ross
2002 - Claude McMichael
2001 - Billy P. Huddleston
2000 - Robert H. Caldwell
1999 - Edgar C. Capen
1998 - James A. Murtha
1997 - Jerol M. Sonosky
1996 - Juan Antonio Rosbaco
1995 - Forrest A. Garb
1994 - Robert S. Thompson


Nominee Eligibility

Must be a living member of SPE.

A nominee is not eligible:

  • If they have received the John Franklin Carll Award, Lester C. Uren Award, DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal, or Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal.
  • If they are on the current SPE Board of Directors, Management award committee or those who have served in these positions during the past 2 years.

To Nominate

  1. Fill out nomination form.
  2. Complete all required information on nomination form; incomplete nominations will not be accepted.
  3. Include a complete statement of the reasons for proposing the candidate, with a record of the candidate's professional and industrial achievements in detail.
  4. Collaborate with colleagues to send letters supporting this nomination.
Small red flag

All information about the candidate and their qualifications for the award must be included on the online nomination form. Candidates will be sent an email requesting a CV/resume when you submit the nomination. Nominations and letters of recommendation are confidential. Candidates remain on the active consideration list for 3 years. If a candidate is not selected during the 3-year active consideration cycle, you can nominate them again if all other eligibility requirements are met.

About the Technical Discipline

This technical discipline includes:

  • Management Techniques
  • Strategic Planning and Management 
  • Energy Economics, Asset, and Portfolio Management
  • Project Management for all activities and levels
  • Ethics, Education, Training and Professionalism, and Personnel Competence