Nomination Deadlines 

International Awards
15 February 2020

Regional Awards
1 March 2020


International Awards
✉| Email
Regional Awards
✉ | Email

Cynthia Thompson
SPE Awards and Recognition Manager
☎ | +1.972.952.9370

2020 Awards

View the full list of 2020 Award Recipients.

Public Service Award

The SPE Public Service Award recognizes distinguished public service to a country, state, community, or the public through excellence in leadership, service, or humanitarianism provided the service is above the requirements of employment and, is therefore, not a compensated activity. Recipients of this award automatically become Distinguished Members.

2020 - William Haskett*
2019 - Pascal Breton
2018 - David C. Baldwin
2017 - Saka Matemilola
2016 - Richard J. Murphy
2015 - Richard D. Folger
2014 – D. Nathan Meehan
2013 – Elizabeth Einhorn
2012 – Forrest E. Hoglund
2011 – Berry D. Simpson
2009 – William J. Milliken
2008 – Joyce M. I. Holtzclaw
2007 – Harry F. Krebs
2006 – Kenneth E. Arnold
2005 – L. D. (Buddy) Sipes, Jr.
2005 – Sidney S. Smith, Sr.
2004 – Ahmed R. Al Arbeed
2003 – Ray L. Hunt
2002 – John P. Lord Browne of Madingley
2000 – James C. Mack
1999 – C. Arnold Brown
1998 – T. Don Stacy
1997 – Rex Monahan
1996 – Arlen L. Edgar
1995 – Ernest Angelo, Jr.
1993 – Patrick F. Taylor
1990 – Robert B. Gilmore
1989 – Myron A. Wright
1988 – William F. Kieschnick
1987 – William P. Clements Jr.
1985 – Robert L. Parker Sr.
1984 – Dean A.McGee  

Nominee Eligibility

  • Must be a living professional member of SPE in good standing.
  • Must demonstrate service beyond the acts of funding or endowing the Society.
  • Must not be on the current SPE Board of Directors, Public Service award committee or those who have served in these positions during the past 2 years.

To Nominate

  1. Fill out nomination form.
  2. Complete all required information on nomination form; incomplete nominations will not be accepted.
  3. Include a complete statement of the reasons for proposing the candidate, with a record of the candidate's professional and industrial achievements in detail.
  4. Collaborate with colleagues to send letters supporting this nomination.
Small red flag

All information about the candidate and their qualifications for the award must be included on the online nomination form. Candidates will be sent an email requesting a CV/resume when you submit the nomination. Nominations and letters of recommendation are confidential. Candidates remain on the active consideration list for 3 years. If a candidate is not selected during the 3-year active consideration cycle, you can nominate them again if all other eligibility requirements are met.